We ♥ Newfoundland


Newfoundland and Labrador is the eastern most province of Canada. Located in the Atlantic region of Canada, it incorporates the island of Newfoundland and the mainland Labrador.

A former colony of the United Kingdom, Newfoundland became the 10th province to enter the Canadian Confederation on March 31st, 1949. Then on December 6th, 2001 an amendment was made to the Constitution of Canada to change the province’s official name to Newfoundland and Labrador. However, in day-to-day conversation, most people still refer to the island as Newfoundland and to the region on the mainland as Labrador.

In 2011, the province’s population was 514,536. Approximately 94% of the province’s population resides on the island of Newfoundland. The largest city, and capital, in Newfoundland is St. John’s. It is home to nearly 40% of the province’s population.

The residents of Newfoundland speak English, French, and Irish. The residents of Labrador speak English, French, Irish, Innu-aimun, and Inuktitut.

Click here for more information about Newfoundland